Yesterday is dead, and tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet

25 May

It has been two weeks since the tragic death of two of my close friends and fellow classmates. It is something no one is prepared for, and happens out of the blue.

To add to these tragedies, I came to find that another friend was in a horrible accident over this last weekend which has put her on life support.

Life is something many of us take for granted, and it is not until we are faced with times like these that we come to understand how important it is to enjoy your life every second of everyday.

Life is too short to live for the fulfillment of someone else’s dreams or expectations. Your life is yours, and only yours. Do spend it always wishing you could do what makes YOU happy, while you are working for what people say is important.

My friend Cindy wrote this only a couple days before her death. I feel like it captures and expresses exactly what she wanted and what we all should realize.

“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it”

– Cindy Caliguiran

Live for today.

Seize the day, and live everyday as if it were your last.

Leave a Reply

