Kids Kids Kids

7 Aug

My eyes slowly open with the sound of the phone ringing.

iPod in one ear, pillow on the other, I look over confused at my roommate who doesn’t seem to budge.  I answer the phone only after finding out that it is for me. The conversation is a blur, as I was still trying to recover from my slumber.

Nights in Bangkok seem to never end. Everything is open all times of the hour, and we tend to embrace it.

As I start to become coherent, I feel a growl in my stomach.

Write. Shower. Clothes. Backpack. Room key.

The search for food starts again.

I head towards my favorite area, the street market. After grabbing a corn on the cob and some quick bread for on the go snacks, I am able  find a nice place to eat.

IMG_2681

There is something about these small unknown places that appeals me.
They have a ambiance to them that is unlike any other.

IMG_2683

I find myself constantly walking through alleys.
You never know when you are going to pass a street vendor with that perfect food or drink.

IMG_2687

Bangkok street art.

IMG_2691

I couldn’t help but take the long way home. A walk down the railroad tracks led me to a familiar friend.
He immediately recognized me from a far. As if we were long time friends, I was greeted by the family with smiles and bows.
IMG_2699

Walking home can create quite a contradictory illusion. One minute you feel as if you are in the midst nature, the next you are in a city, surrounded in high rises.

IMG_2703

After getting home, my roommate Kevin was headed back out. I couldn’t resist the opportunity for more Thai food.
Walking around, we were greeted by a swarm of children at a sidewalk restaurant.
IMG_2708

Although the father cooked for us, it seemed to be run by this little one. He made sure to keep us entertained throughout our stay there.
IMG_2709

I could’t help but snap shots of the kids.
IMG_2714

IMG_2719

IMG_2720

IMG_2721

IMG_2722

IMG_2723

IMG_2724 copy

She quickly became attached the camera.

IMG_2726

The kids handed us the food, and patiently waited to see what we thought.  They made sure we knew to use both the spoon and fork.

IMG_2728

My housemate and I have become quite the duo in Thailand.
IMG_2729
.
.
.

Children in Thailand have a joy about them that is different from any other places I have been. Being surrounded by them has brightened my day. The most simple things make them so happy. Surrounded by a city, living in “poverty” seems to be a better place for kids to grow up. They learn the realities of life and enjoy the time they spend socializing with people around them.

IMG_2732

Leave a Reply

