Weekend in the Marketplace

14 Aug

Life in Bangkok has been quite busy lately. I haven’t gotten the chance to post as often as usual, but I am hoping to get back on track.

The weekend has been full of exploring the land of markets in Thailand.

Almost everywhere you turn you find a marketplace of some sort, but Saturday morning we headed to what was the markets of all markets.

IMG_3221

IMG_3222

IMG_3228

Walking through the market I spotted this beautiful Honda. Reminded me of home. I miss Sunday rides through the California Redwoods.

IMG_3231

As usual we all were excited for food.

IMG_3236

IMG_3237

As far as the eye could see, there were things of all sorts for sale.

IMG_3247

IMG_3251

IMG_3255

IMG_3261

IMG_3268

Hydration is key in a city like Bangkok. Fresh fruit drinks are in abundance.

IMG_3272

IMG_3274

IMG_3275

I couldn’t help but fall victim to the freshly fried spring rolls.

IMG_3276

Children of all ages are skilled in all kinds of things.

IMG_3282

IMG_3284

The day came to a close, as we all were overwhelmed by the amount of things for sale.

We headed home, only to get ready for a true night in Bangkok.
The night was long and consisted of great fun on Soi Cowboy.

After waking up this morning, we all concluded that breakfast was needed.
Went up to grab Kevin from our room, and we were back off into the market.

Why carry your child, when you can just cart them around?

IMG_3295

I couldn’t help but snap a couple shots of these children and their grandmother relaxing on a warm Sunday morning.

IMG_3302

The busy market sidewalks proved to be comfortable enough for Kevin to fall asleep on.

IMG_3307

IMG_3308

Once again, I am surrounded by the serene children of Bangkok. They are often my favorite subjects to photograph.

IMG_3311

IMG_3312

Although I have only been here a week, I feel like this is already starting to become my home.
My daily walks are accompanied by greetings of friendly locals who now know my name. I no longer feel like a “farang”, but instead feels as if I am a local myself.
The people of Thailand have been more accepting than many of my lifelong neighbors at home.

I think this is a change I can get used to.

IMG_3314

Leave a Reply

