JJ Market

21 Aug

My eyes slowly open, and I realize morning is here. My stomach is growling from hunger. My body feels achy from the day of walking.

As I crawl out of bed and head to the bathroom, I look out the window and all is dark.

Confused, I come out to the living room. Still dark.

I come to realize that it is still night-time. My sleep was only a nap. What was supposed to be a time to rest before dinner, became “sleep”.

The beauty is that it doesn’t matter. I have no agenda I must keep. No one to tell me I missed an integral part of the day. No promises I forgot to keep.

My day “started” as I walked out the door, and headed for the Sky-train. Thirty Baht later, I was at the famous JJ Market (aka Weekend Market). As usual, immense crowds of  people filled the market.

IMG_3678

The market is filled with all kinds of goods. More things than you could ever want. Most defiantly more things than one could ever need.
IMG_3679

Fresh coconuts are found almost everywhere in Bangkok.

IMG_3684

Among other things, the market is full of puppies. Puppies of all kinds. Tons of them every where.
It is hard to pass them by and not want to take one home.

IMG_3688

IMG_3690

IMG_3694

IMG_3703

Even monks are found at the market. They seemed to be gathered around the baby rabbits when I passed them.

IMG_3702

This dish never fails me. Steamed rice, with stir fried vegetables. Simple and delicious.

IMG_3686
Frozen fruits are my favorite, so when I passed this stand with frozen bananas, I knew I had to have one. Freshly dipped right in front of me. Half sprinkles, half peanuts for the indecisive.

IMG_3704

IMG_3706

After a couple of hours walking thorough crowds down tiny alleys got me a little claustrophobic. Luckily right outside of the market is a beautiful park.

IMG_3710

Cardamom tea was quite good after a long walk.

IMG_3711

Decided it was time to open up an old friend. I don’t remember the last time I opened it up. Sad, as it is a book that will transform your mind.

IMG_3714

Once in the park, I couldn’t help but snap candid shots of people in the park.

IMG_3716

A couple taking a picture, most likely going to be found on facebook later today.

IMG_3718

An artist patiently working.

IMG_3725

IMG_3726

Seemed to be some sort of photo shoot going on. I decided to join in on the fun.

IMG_3728

IMG_3731

IMG_3723

IMG_3735

As strange as it may seem I enjoy time to myself. Gives me time to think.
It gives you a type of freedom that is not easily attained in a society with so much going on.

A day well spent with nothing but the company of my own.

IMG_3745

The sunset never seems to fail me.

3 Responses to “JJ Market”

  1. TBM August 21, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Looks like a great day! I’m jealous. And I love fresh coconuts!

    • dariustii August 21, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      haha if you ever find yourself in South East Asia, We’ll grab a coconut!

      • TBM August 21, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

        I hope to take you up on that offer some day. I’m enjoying your non-planned journey!

Leave a Reply

