Ayutthaya Adventures

4 Sep

It’s a sunny Sunday morning in Bangkok. As I sit here getting ready to write of my adventures into the ancient city of Ayutthaya yesterday, I couldn’t help but realize that it will be my first new post in September.

A lot has been going on these last few days.
Thursday, September 1st, was the 4 week mark for me in Thailand. It was a quick month, and I took the day off to soak it all in.
I spent most of my day reading and writing.  Felt nice to sit back and reminisce on my time here.

Last week a friend from home sent me an email with a request. She, along with many others, noticed that I seem to spend the better part of my days behind the lens. Snapping shots of the scenery and people around me. So she challenged me to spend one day, “beyond the lens”.
I couldn’t say no. Not only did I accept, but I decided that I will spend one day, each week, “Beyond the Lens”. One day just to think, and focus on the present, with no distractions at all.

I will share my “Beyond the Lens” experience soon, but for now I will continue on about my  Adventure to Ayutthaya.

Saturday, September 3rd.

I wake up to the sound an alarm ringing. I reluctantly look up, only to realize it is 6 AM. I put my head down. I look back up and the time has now changed to 6:45.
I rush up, and throw on some clothes. I walk to the living room, and see everyone else up already. It’s already 7 AM. After a quick bowl of cereal, I get my backpack ready for an adventure.

Kevin, Sven, and I grab our things and head down to the street. Our usual walk to school is not possible. We stuff six people into a cab, and head towards school.

We arrive just a little before 8AM. We look out the window with relief. The busses are still there. We see familiar faces and jump into bus 1.

IMG_4590

IMG_4591

IMG_4585

IMG_4580

IMG_4592

We found the girls from 1008 sitting in a VIP lounge room in the first floor. Without hesitation we joined them.
Waking up at 6 AM took a toll on us all. Many took the time on the bus to rest before a day out in Thailand.

IMG_4594

After an hour we had arrived to the ancient capital of Bangkok, AYUTTHAYA.
The sun was out, the sky was clear, and the air was fresh. A much different feel from Bangkok. We all were quite excited to be in a new area.

IMG_4613

IMG_4614

IMG_4615

The first stop on our guided tour of the city was a traditional Thai temple.
We all went through the whole Buddhist process. Prayer with a flower, 3 in scents, a candle, and donations.

IMG_4618

IMG_4621

My creative side came out after spending some time with my flower.

IMG_4625

Gabby couldn’t help but add a little to her flower as well.

IMG_4628

Once I entered the temple I was greeted by one of the most magnificent Buddhas I had ever seen. A huge golden Buddha right in the middle of a beautiful temple. It was quite astonishing to see something like this.

After spending 30 minutes praying and gawking over the temple we headed to lunch.

Lunch was served on a boat that took us all around the island of Ayutthaya.

IMG_4644

Traditional food from that area was served. Mostly fish, but luckily that provided us with an endless supply of rice.

IMG_4646

IMG_4647

IMG_4653

The boat ride gave us a chance to really see all the surroundings of the city.

IMG_4655

Beautiful temples could be found around every bend.

IMG_4665

There were more catfish in this small part of the river than I had ever seen in my life. Strangely enough they love eating bread.

IMG_4670

IMG_4676

IMG_4680

IMG_4683

He spent his whole time at lunch devouring the fish. Leaving nothing behind and eating anything possible. The head and the eyes of the fish were even too good to pass up in his eyes.

IMG_4688

Living on the river bank in Ayutthaya has its ups and downs. Literally! When rainy season comes, the bottom floor of their houses gets submerged.
The Thai people did not seem to mind much. They simply move to the 2nd floor and carry on with life for those months of the year.

IMG_4689

IMG_4711

IMG_4723

As if in a movie, beautiful ancient temples are found all around Ayutthaya. I almost swam across just to get a closer look of the beautiful temple.

IMG_4731

IMG_4739

IMG_4741

After finishing the boat ride we headed to the ancient temple of Wat Mahatat. Hundreds of years of history was right in front of our eyes.

IMG_4756

IMG_4758

A Buddha head in an overgrown tree.

IMG_4763

IMG_4768

IMG_4774

IMG_4775

I dont think I have seen anything as magnificent as these temples in Thailand.

IMG_4779

After a long walk in the heat, we decided to take a breather.

IMG_4784

IMG_4798

IMG_4806

Hannah found herself in a tree. After seeing Kevin climbing as well, I couldn’t help but pass the camera to Sven to get up there myself.

IMG_4808

IMG_4817

IMG_4822

While leaving I passed a girl posing for a model shot. I couldn’t help but take her picture.

IMG_4828

IMG_4829

One last picture before we left Wat Mahatat.

On the bus ride to the next temple a couple of Thai students joined us.

IMG_4832

As we came up to the Ancient Royal Palace we were greeted by elephants.
Aymerik was in awe.

IMG_4838

IMG_4839

It seemed as if someone missed the giant mound on the sidewalk.

IMG_4840

IMG_4844

Patrik is quite defensive about Yap.

IMG_4848

IMG_4852

We didn’t let the heat bring us down. Smiles were found among all faces.

IMG_4853

IMG_4855

IMG_4857

Everyone gathered for a group photo. I was stuck in the back, and decided I would be better off just staying behind the lens.
On the count of three everyone yelled, “CAVEMAN!”

IMG_4864

Jaan Martin looked quite good in the heat of Ayutthaya. I couldn’t help but snap a couple of pictures of him.

IMG_4865

IMG_4869

IMG_4872

IMG_4873

IMG_4881

The ancient palace was amazing.

IMG_4885

IMG_4888

IMG_4899

Sue would not let me take any pictures of her. I had to join her to overcome her fears.

IMG_4900

IMG_4903

After taking these two pictures I felt as if I was shooting for a wedding in Thailand.

IMG_4909

IMG_4910

Who knows, maybe one day I will be shooting for their wedding.

Before leaving the Old Palace, I had to see the temple.

IMG_4911

IMG_4917

After the ancient palace we headed back home. All tired from a day out in the sun. Walking everywhere and seeing everything.
It really was one of the most beautiful places I had been. I will defiantly be back one day when I need to get away from it all.

As we got back into Bangkok, we all decided food was first on the list.
Being tired of all of the same food, we headed to a new spot down the road.

IMG_4919

Having a table on the street is no big deal in Thailand. The weather was nice so we had no problems with it.

We all ordered Panag Curry. Feeling a bit brave, I used my newly acquired Thai to make sure the chef knew I wanted it SPICY.

IMG_4925

As everyone’s curry came out a yellow/orange color, mine was red. Defiantly one of the most spicy foods I have had.

IMG_4926

All in all it was an amazing day.
Great places and great people.

IMG_4918

2 Responses to “Ayutthaya Adventures”

  1. sueywang September 5, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    Yooooo Darius, it’s Sue here! Awesum blog dude! Anyways I don’t have a concept for my blog yet, so im just figuring this out, unfortunatelly it’s in Dutch. hahaha X

    • dariustii September 5, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

      Hey! Thanks 🙂 Whats your blog? The one I clicked on doesn’t seem like it is you haha. We should hang out, email me at cavemantravels@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

