Haste Makes Waste

7 Sep

A saying I often heard as a child.
Unfortunately it took twenty two years for me to realize the truth behind it.

As I got up this morning, I cam out to a note that read, “Kevin and me took our basketball stuff with us today! Wanna join us? Come to lunch with us at noon!
Cheers, Sven”

I immediately headed to the kitchen. A big breakfast was in need, if I was to be playing basketball in the heat of Thailand .

After a quick breakfast, I headed downstairs. Ear phones in, and basketball on my mind I headed downstairs to pay the rent before leaving. The cash on hand was not enough, so the ATM was the first stop.

I headed to school only to find Sven and Julie waiting for me outside of the food court. As if we never left, another meal was shared amongst the company of the  Japanese girls.

After a good meal Sven, Kevin, and I headed to find a court.

IMG_4958

The stadium on campus was huge. I never expected such nice sports facilities at a University in the middle of a big city.

Finally after searching we found somewhere we could play.

IMG_4959

IMG_4962

The gym was full of all types of stuff. Even had a Mui Thai boxing ring full with punching bags and practice pads.

IMG_4973

Played a couple of games with some Thai students. Sven, Kevin, and I make a pretty killer team. The shortest one among us is 6 feet tall. Don’t think the Thai kids are used to such big players.

IMG_4980

IMG_4982

After three or four games in the heat of Thailand we were all drenched in sweat. Playing basketball will take a little getting used to.

IMG_4996

IMG_4997

It seemed as if Physical Education class had started, so we took it as a cue for us to leave.
On our way out I saw a Thai girl roll up on this awesome looking mini bike.

IMG_4998

You don’t normally see motorbikes as nice as this one in Thailand.

IMG_4999

IMG_5000

7-11s are literally everywhere in Thailand. Even in and out of campus.

IMG_5001

After an ice cream stop we headed home.

The walk home was quite difficult, as we all felt the repercussions of our day in the gym.

After walking in I looked into my wallet to grab my key card. At first glance everything looked alright. I looked again as the wallet seemed a little light.
A red Bank of America card was missing.
Right as I saw it, I realized that in my excitement to get to school, I forgot the card in the ATM. Frustration consumed my body, as I could not believe the gigantic mistake I had made.
I headed down to see if someone had brought it to the 7-11, but no luck.

This is when I realized that being in a rush never pays. Sometimes you just need to take a second and slow down.

I was quite upset at first, but realized that there was literally nothing I could do about it.
I decided food was needed.

Craving a new taste, we headed to a small Italian place in an alley not too far from home.
Much to our surprise the portions were huge, and the food was delicious. I forgot my camera but brought the iPod/iPhone. I couldn’t help but snap a couple of shots.

IMG_0303

IMG_0302

Mistakes were made.
I am overwhelmed with regret.
But I go back to what I once heard,

“You can be as mad as a mad dog at the way things went. You could swear, curse the fates, but when it comes to the end, you have to let go.”

I do my best to live this way because in the end, none of it really matters.

Leave a Reply

