Tuesday Tea Time

20 Sep

As I woke this morning, I felt the repercussions from the day before.
The combination of the gym in the morning, and basketball at night put my body into a fatigue seldom felt.

I started to blog last night, but woke at 2 AM to an achy neck, ear buds in ears, and a laptop on the bed. I cleaned up and hopped right back into bed for a couple more hours of sleep.

As I slowly climbed out of bed, I stumbled out into the living room, to find that I had the house to myself. I decided that I would not let the fatigue get to me, so I whipped up a couple of eggs and headed out the gym.

After a good workout, I packed up my backpack and headed to the local “Corner” restaurant, where I would find a couple other exchange students to eat with.

The rain came, and I decided that instead of staying at home, (a place I have found myself at way too much lately) I would journey out to find a new coffee shop to reside at.

A quick ride on the train brought me to Coffee Society. A nice little 3 story coffee shop off of Sala Dang.

A good friend reminded me just yesterday how much I used to enjoy drinking tea. Before I left for Bangkok, I would order a cup of tea where ever I would go. In Bangkok on the other hand I haven’t really even had one pot of hot tea.
I decided that needed to be changed.

IMG_5425

So as I sit here drinking my pot of Jasmine tea, I will share some a little from my exhausting Monday. Not many pictures were taken, but sometimes less tends to be more.

After the gym and getting ready for my day, I headed to my favorite place to grab a delicious breakfast.

IMG_5414

I have come to realize that if you tell a chef to make “whatever you feel like” it ends up being 10 times better. I think it may be the freedom that it gives them, that creates a much better dish.

For the last year or so I have been slowly chipping away at the magnificent book titled, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.
While laying on the island of Ko Pha Ngan I finally finished the book. Since I have started to reread it to geet deeper insight into ideas.
After looking back, I can easily say that it has been one of the most influential pieces on my life over the last year or so.

The book has given me a much different outlook on life. It also was one of the main reasons I have been so drawn to things on two wheels. After reading of a journey across the United States on the back of a two-wheeled machine, I knew it was a feeling I had to experience.
Since I opened the book I have acquired 4 vintage Austrian and French mopeds and my favorite of all my 1975 Honda.

Although the story revolves around the journey on the back of a Motorcycle, it is in no way a book designed for “gear heads”. The book revolves around philosophy, Zen Buddhism, and questions the idea of creating “Quality” in our lives.

I believe that this book is a must read for anyone, and for that reason I will gladly purchase the book for anyone who desires to explore the journey as well. Simply send me an email, and I will have a copy sent to you.

Ironically, yesterday as I walked towards the post office to send out another batch of postcards I ran into this beauty.

IMG_5415

IMG_5416

IMG_5417

The bike just had so much character and pizzaz. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. To me it was perfect.
I would love to get a hold of the owner and speak to him about his beautiful motorbike.

Sitting here drinking tea, writing about motorcycles, and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance has put me in a mood that not even the stormy weather outside can bring down.

So I hope to hear that you, (yes you), one day soon will be sitting down drinking tea, and reading Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

IMG_5430

2 Responses to “Tuesday Tea Time”

  1. Dani Gregoire September 20, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Darius!! I would love to read the book, but can I just borrow yours?? I need a new one!

    -Dani (rm 1008) just in case you forgot! hahah

    • dariustii September 21, 2011 at 2:28 am #

      Most definitely. I started it over again, but it;s time for a new book.
      I’ll try to get it to you asap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

