Day at the Racetrack

3 Oct

Woke up yesterday and decided to clean up the room.
After going through all of the change I had around the place I had over 150 Baht! Sweet!
IMG_6037

Went to lunch with a bunch of exchange students. Watched a Mui Thai fight at lunch, and then decided that we would go check out the horse races in Bangkok.
Who would have thought of going to a horse race in the middle of a big city like Bangkok?

IMG_6039
We got dressed for success then headed to gamble our money away.

IMG_6043

I am more of a observer when it comes to things like this though. I did my share of gambling this year in Vegas, and I didn’t really like it. I’d rather just watch other people.

IMG_6048

IMG_6051

The race track was smack dab in the middle of the city.
Even had a golf course in the middle of the track!

IMG_6056

IMG_6057

IMG_6059

IMG_6061

IMG_6063

IMG_6065

IMG_6066

IMG_6067

IMG_6069

They all bet on number 8 for the first race. The horses ran and they ran.

IMG_6071

IMG_6080

IMG_6082

To all of our surprise, number 8 won!

IMG_6084

IMG_6087

IMG_6095

IMG_6098

IMG_6100

IMG_6106

We celebrated with some cold beers.

IMG_6107

IMG_6108

IMG_6110

IMG_6112

IMG_6113

IMG_6116

The next race was to start. Nobody went with their same bets. They switched it up and went wth hrose number 10 this time.
Before the race even started we saw a horse running. No jocky, just the horse.
As we looked harder it was horse number 10!

Everyone was upset with the horse, but to me it was the best horse to bet on. Had more desire than any other horse to run as fast as it could.

IMG_6121

IMG_6126

IMG_6132

As we lost 2 more times, everyone decided that it was time to go home.
They all jumped on the back of motorcycle taxis, but thats just something I can’t do.
After being in an accident earlier this year that sent me in the hospital and spit me out with a full arm cast and a cane, I don’t push my luck.

IMG_6134

IMG_6135

IMG_6136

I had a nice stroll down to Sala Dang instead.

IMG_6138

Fun day out at a racetrack. Quite a different racetrack than I am used to being at, but fun none the less!

 

Thinking about my accident had me remincing on earlier this year.

4 Responses to “Day at the Racetrack”

  1. pemen October 4, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    impressive blog darius!
    i like your view on the easy but also unique things of life…

    btw, best comment ever:
    …at least it was fast… 🙂

    • dariustii October 4, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks so much! Hahaha
      That was quite the horse! definitely the one I would bet on again 😀

  2. Nikki Nguyen October 5, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    Remember when we decided to go skating with your broken arm….then you fell on it? It left a pink streak of pain on the ground.

    • dariustii October 5, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      hahaha! i remember it like it was yesterday.
      I wish I could jump back on a skateboard and ride to your house in the sunny California weather

Leave a Reply

