Hangin’ with Royalty

14 Oct

Its already Friday night, and I feel like the whole week just wizzed past me without me even knowing it.
Life’s been busy. Not too busy, but busy enough to keep me occupied.

I woke up early yesterday morning. As I sat at the table, finishing up the last touches to my latest video, the phone rang.

“Darius?… Want to go to the Grand Palace today?”
I thought about it for a second, “Uhh, Sure! I don’t have anything better to do!”

So with that being said I got dressed and headed down to the lobby.
We walked out, by 8:30 AM. I was still exhausted from the night before, so we all grabbed Thai coffees to go.

IMG_7224

Thais love to put drinks in bags. It is the weirdest and most ingenious idea ever. You can walk with it. You can throw it over your shoulder. You can hang it off your handle bars. Best of all it keeps your hand free!
I have only ever seen other people with them. Even when I tried to get a drink in a bag, or get a handle around my drink, it never worked out. It’s a “Thai thing”.
But finally I had made it into the club!

IMG_7229

We were off.
After a taxi ride, we were there. We walked up and then were told it was closed.
AGAIN!? This would be the second time I would have been failed. We walked down a little and found that it was wrong. It was open.
We went in, and entered the Royal Palace.

IMG_7232

The Girls had to cover their legs.

IMG_7235

IMG_7237

The palace was amazing. Beautiful buildings all around us.

IMG_7243

Everything that looks “gold” is real gold. Even paintings on the walls were plastered with gold.

IMG_7244

IMG_7246

IMG_7249

Rob pointed out this girl who he thought was quite the “cutie”.

IMG_7250

Touch ups.

IMG_7254

IMG_7257

The girls were looking quite dapper with their skirts.

IMG_7259

This picture would set up the premise of the rest of the day.

IMG_7261

The sky looked amazing behind the beautiful architecture.

IMG_7264

IMG_7266

While I stared at the man’s camera setup, Rob went for some water.

IMG_7271

IMG_7277

IMG_7278

We couldn’t help but take pictures with the Thai guard. Just like in England, he wouldn’t budge a smile.

IMG_7287

IMG_7289

Giant building in the middle.

IMG_7290

IMG_7292

IMG_7294

IMG_7303

IMG_7306

IMG_7314

Unbrealla pictures!

IMG_7317

As we left,the girls indulged on a fresh coconut.

IMG_7318

We headed into the official King Rama VI Chulalongkorn museum.

This sweet hole in the wall would dispense postcards with every 10 baht you stuck in.

IMG_7324

I got very excited.

IMG_7333

The gift shop had even more postcards. I got very excited. I think I bought enough postcards to last a little while.

We headed back into the streets to find some grub.

IMG_7336

Found a little place to sit down and eat.

IMG_7340

We walked and we walked, until we found ourselves at the river.

IMG_7341

The weather was quite amazing, considering we are all preparing for a flood.

IMG_7345

IMG_7346

We explored around our rival school, Tomasat.

IMG_7349

Then me and Rob became Thai dancers.

IMG_7353

The girl at the desk decided to join Rob.

IMG_7358

We crossed a bridge.

IMG_7359

IMG_7361

IMG_7367

He was so happy.

A little glimpse into the realities of the times in Bangkok. Flooding all around us.
Its only a matter of time until it hits us as well. We are all crossing our fingers, and hope for the best.

IMG_7394

After that, we headed to the infamous Kao San Road.

IMG_7401

Experienced some sweet day shopping, and some weird backpackers.

This Thai salesman was quite awesome though.

IMG_7399

All in all, it was an awesome day.
Did more touristy stuff than I fell I had done since my stay, but it was quite fun.
I need to do more of it from now on.

Kim convinced me that I needed to have more pictures of myself during my journey.
She said my mom would be happy to see me. Lets hope so!

IMG_7299

AzukiNinjaTravels.

Leave a Reply

