RIP: Behind the Faceshield

24 Oct

I came home from a 20+ hour journey back from Laos, only to find out that another life had been lost to one of the motor sports that I love.

Just yesterday, Italian Moto GP racer, Marco Simoncelli passed away after a fatal accident at the Malaysian Grand Prix. Only 24 years of age, it’s sad to hear of such a tragic death. Known for his aggressive driving style and unique personality both on and off the track
It was only last week that I watched him on the TV get a 2nd place finish in Australia.

It was also just one week ago that Indy car driver Dan Wheldon, passed away in a 15 car accident at Las Vegas. A two time winner of the Indy 500, and an amazing British driver.

Although quite different from usual posts, I felt as if it is just something I had to do. Many people who know me, know that my life has revolved around motorsports from a very young age.
Ever since I was a teen, I have spent countless days on the racetrack. My life has revolved around this very place.

Most recently I have grown an addiction to life on two wheels as well. Sunday afternoons you can find me riding my motorbike through the redwood trees, and enjoying lunch among friends at the oh-so-famous Alice’s restaurant.

So for me, these stories of these tragic deaths really hit home.

This just shows us that life is short. It’s unexpected. There’s no telling when or what will happen.
So live your life to the fullest and don’t ever look back.

Rest In Peace Marco Simoncelli and Dan Wheldon.

For just as you two, I as well feel most at home behind a faceshield.

 

One Response to “RIP: Behind the Faceshield”

  1. secret girl. October 29, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    “Live your life to the fullest and don’t ever look back”I love this word and i think so.:)

Leave a Reply

