Digital Detox

10 Nov

Since my arrival to Bangkok I have found myself more and more and more lazy and irritated of my situation. As when I sit still for too long, I have no idea what to do.

And if any of you all have ever been hurt, you as well as I, know that laziness quickly grows, until you feel as if it is just a part of you.
With everyday of rest and relaxation I find myself more reluctant to get up and do things.
I do not believe that the medication is helping, yet I fear it is bigger than that.

It is the notion that laziness grows like an infections disease. Slowly takes over and before you know it, has taken over your whole body.
You lose interest in things that before excited you. You loose all motivation.
Yet I fee that there is one major cause for this infectious laziness. It is the one thing we all think of as being the “solution to all our problems”; the “cure to all our questions”

THE INTERNET.

For all of you look at the screen strangely, wondering what I am saying, don’t act as if you are so blind. For we have all experienced how the internet has taken us from being alive social being, to being “social network” beings.
With every click of the mouse and push of the button, we get sucked in further and further until there is no more looking out.

Like a drug we crave more and more without realizing that with each keystroke we become less and less aware of the lives right in front of us.
The “Internet” is all we know. “The Cloud”.
We have whole other lives on there. We have friends and people who know our every move.
People who “like” us and enjoy knowing every time we “check in” at a new place to eat.
We live for this. For others to constantly be envious of where we are, who we are with, what we are doing. Yet we never seem to enjoy any of these things. The main goal is only to fuel this envy. To show others how many places we are and what’s the latest status in our lives.
Not realizing that the only status really in our life is that we are stuck to this fictional world in the cloud. That we have lost our  sense of life and have embodied a whole new way of living.
Behind screens.

This post may be a surprise to many, but for the some who know me, this should be nothing of the sort.
For I have no Facebook, not intend on getting one. I don’t live for “likes” and status updates, nor have more tags and friends than the average joe.

But I would be lying if I said I discarded the internet as well. Be lying if I said I havent spent the majority of my adolescent life stuck behind the screen. constantly searching for more and more. Trying to understand more, do more, see more, only to come to the realization later in life that less is more.

I must thank the internet, as it has created many of the ideas, thoughts, and opportunities in my life. WIthout it I would not be where I am today.
I mean, how would you all know where I am and what I am doing?
For it enables me to do things like this.

But the fact of the matter is just this. The realization of what has become of us all. Understanding both the benefits and the faults of something and acting accordingly.
For getting rid of the internet would be a preposterous idea. ut coming to terms with what it has done to us all is needed.
So what I ask for is a Digital Detox.
For try it., as I am as well. Rid yourself of all the Digital in your world and enjoy the air, the sun, the grass, and the people all around you. For can you not remember how great life without the internet was?

The world has not changed. It is still the same. It’s just us who have changed.

IMG_8549

” People caught up in this primary [world] seem to go through huge portions of their lives without much conciousness of what’s immediately around them. The media have convinced them that what’s right around them is unimportant. And that’s why they are lonely. You see it in their faces. First the little flicker of searching, and then when they look at you are just a kind of object. You don’t count. You aren’t what they are looking for.”

“I hope that it’s been made plain that the real evil isn’t the objects of technology, but the tendency of technology to isolate people into lonely attitudes of objectivity.”

3 Responses to “Digital Detox”

  1. Nikki Nguyen November 11, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    I think you have a skewed vision of such, my friend.
    “Don’t shoot the messenger”

    It’s the need of human nature for validation and acceptance.

    We all abuse the freedom that we want.

    • dariustii November 11, 2011 at 1:40 am #

      Skewed it quite possibly is.
      The need for acceptance and the comfort of others in not in question. It is only when that is at the expense of true human interaction that I find it flawed.

      These technologies should simply be a tool, not a reliance.
      “facebook” is simply an example, not even close to the sole problem.

      Consider the message.

      • Nikki Nguyen November 11, 2011 at 4:50 am #

        I agree with you 100%

        To use is necessary; to abuse or ab-use is not.

        I believe it’s the temptation in consumption, whether it be information, news, trends, or sans human interaction, is what drives people to get sucked into the internet. And to reenforce your point: less is more; the thought of endlessness becomes a valued. Just a misperception.

        Although it is a prerogative in choice to consume or be consumed, the justification lays in one’s one vision of such.

Leave a Reply

