Deal of the Day: Firehouse Burgers

20 Nov

As we walked home from a long day of football, Kevin said words that sent our night into oblivion.

“Dude…a burger and fries sounds really good right now”

As he said that I suddenly got taken back home. Visions of diners, BBQs, and juicy burgers popped into my head.
I looked at him. Smiled. And decided that nothing other than a Burger and Fries would suffice.

NO McDonald’s or Burger King crap. I needed a real deal Burger and Fries. (Well…as real deal as it gets for a Vegetarian)
People who know me, know that it doesn’t take much to get me excited. So when I headed home, I went onto the web to search for the best burgers in Bangkok.
I stumbled across an awesome blog. Ironically it has the exact same layout as mine, and is specifically for the “Best Burgers in Bangkok”

On the top of the list was my favorite Pub, “Bully’s”.
None of the guys had been there, but we decided to check out something none of us had been to. There was a new place, not too far from us, that sounded like exactly what we needed.

We showered, got ready and hit the road.
A quick BTS ride to Nana, and a walk down Sukumvit Soi 11 and we were there.

FIREHOUSE.

We glanced in, and I was immediately surprised. It was much fancier, and much smaller than I was expecting.
A very nice ambiance, yet no one inside.
I got scared.
We sat down to two very nice waitresses waiting on our every move. It felt a bit weird at first, but after a while, I figured out that this is what farang men in this area are into. We took their generosity as a compliment though.

The place had great decor, along with some of the nicest silverware I have ever used.

IMG_8779

IMG_8782

Much different from the usual fork and spoon that ends up bending while trying to stir our rice around.

IMG_8780

We opened up the menu, and were greeted by an array of dishes.
Burgers along with many other things to choose from. A surprise to us all, but we had come for one thing, and one thing only.
A slab a juicy *meat* in between two buns, filled with condiments from the heavens, and a side of fried potatoes.

We decided to go a bit gusto, and order an appetizer as well.
Fried Calamari.

IMG_8784

Six Golden fried Os of calamari popped out.
We all were starving, so we dug in.
Fried to a perfect crisp, with a soft succulent squid inside. We all looked up at each other with smiles with the first bite. I don’t think we could have asked for more.

Soon after we finished the Calamari, the first burger popped out.
Our eyes were fixed on it, as we all were hoping it would be placed in front of us.

It was Kevin’s. Sven and I stared with jealousy.

IMG_8785

Huge burger & Crispy fries placed on a slab of wood.
AMAZING.

IMG_8787

As he bit into it, I saw his eyes light up.
It was exactly what we were all hoping for.

Right as he went to tell us all about his burger, I saw a light out of the corner of my eyes.
It was my burger.
I went with the SurfBurger. Although it may not be up to par for the strictest of vegetarians, it could make the  most hippie Vegans turn to pescatarians.

IMG_8790

A giant fried fish, placed inbetween two buns. Tartar sauce. Veggies. Huge potato wedges.
YUM.

IMG_8789

Biting into it was going to be a challenge. I planned for a strategic attack, but ended up giving up any plans I had previously made.
I went in for a full-fledged attack.
My taste buds thanked me for it.

As me and Kevin were enjoying our delicious meals, Sven sat there salivating.
I started to move over a bit, as I was afraid my burger was in danger. But before we knew it, his monster of a burger was here.

IMG_8794

They really should rename it from the “Breakfast Burger” to the SVEN Burger.

Sven stands at a steady 6 foot 4. Only a man of that stature could take on a burger of this size and magnitude.

IMG_8795

Giant and juicy is best way to explain this one. Not just juicy, REALLY JUICY.
With every bite, Sven fell deeper and deeper in love.
How could you blame him?
A giant patty. Bacon. Cheese. An Egg. Veggies.
The perfect burger for a carnivore.

IMG_8797

He had no problem eating it to the very last bite.

After we all finished, we sat back and just basked in our glory, as we had just found the goldmine.
The Burgers were amazing. The ambiance was great.
Service was exceptional.
Nothing else we could have asked for.

So we said our goodbyes, and headed back.

We headed back home in our glory, only to run into one of my dream cars.

I don’t think the night could have been any better.

IMG_8805

One day…

A place like this deserves much more advertisement.
Firehouse Pub and Restaurant.
Amazing food and service.
The owner even came out to thank us, and was excited to hear of their feature on my blog

So I hope that next time you feel like indulging on some delicious burgers, you consider Firehouse.
I promise you won’t be disappointed.

IMG_8800

Look for more “Deal of the Day” posts, by the guys from 1208.

Leave a Reply

