Christmas In the Village

26 Dec

So it’s the day after Christmas now. A lot has happened in the last day or two. People have left, yet at the same time more people have come to join me.

But before I go on about that, let me speak now, on how I really spent my Christmas.

Although the feeling of Christmas was all around in the big city of Bangkok, it was not where I decided to spend my Christmas.

I spent my Christmas in the “Village”.

Four or so days ago, I woke up from a night out only to find myself in a complete foreign place. I looked around.
No friends I could recognize. No place I could familiarize.
As I slowly got up I looked around only to realize I had no idea where I was.
I opened the door only to find clear blue skies, and green all around me. No buildings. No people. Only nature.

As I sat out on the porch, my memory soon came to me, and I realized that after sharing a taxi ride with some people I had met, I ended up at their house. Far from home and confused I ended up just sleeping there.

Well I ended up making a few friends that day. After a day in this “village” I had a made a new friend and found a totally different side of Bangkok, that I feel is seldom explored.
So as I said my goodbyes I knew it was a place I would have to venture back into. The people I had met, and the things I had seen are unable to explain with words.
I felt as if I had a new little family here in Thailand.

So as Christmas Eve came along I ventured back into this new and different area. After a long skytrain ride, a couple of motorcycle taxis, and a boat ride later, I was there.

So here is my story of how I spent my Christmas Eve.
Among my Thai family.

IMG_0092

As I crossed the big river, the sun was setting, yet my day was just beginning.

IMG_0096

As I arrived to the house, I was greeted by little Garfield. A big ball of fun.

IMG_0097

Six years old and ready to take over the world with his charm.

IMG_0098

IMG_0101

Walking around the area was a breath of fresh air.
Literally.

IMG_0104

As I arrived, my new friends were already busy cooking. As it was Kung’s Birthday on Christmas Eve.

IMG_0106

The first thing they told me was “Are you ready to learn how to cook Thai food?!”
There was no way I was, but I just said yes anyways.
She turned on the wok, and pointed at a bag.
I looked and saw French Fries.
“French Fries?… You want me to cook French Fries?”
They looked at me blankly and just said, “Yes!”

So I was in charge of the very intricate Thai dish of french fries.

IMG_0105

Soon I realized that there was not much I needed to do, other than make sure they didn’t burn.
So I decided playing with Garfield would be more up my alley.

IMG_0120

So we played with a variety of hula hoops.
We ran around together.
Sword fought with pieces of straw.
I taught him how to fly in my arms.
And did all things most fun in life.

But soon dinner was ready and we needed to be serious.

IMG_0125

A wide variety of dishes, flavors, and foods.

IMG_0127

The birthday girl was quite happy to finally have all the food done.

IMG_0132

Although it was Kung’s birthday, it was Garfield who would be the one to blow out the candles.

IMG_0141

Auntie and her Garfield.

IMG_0142

As the night went on more people came and soon people left.
The celebration was far from over though.
We simply moved inside to continue our party.

The girls got hungry once again, and decided to devour what was left of the fish.

IMG_0146

With drinks, food, and friends all around, how could you not be happy.

IMG_0149

IMG_0171

IMG_0174

IMG_0175

IMG_0178

We had been working all day, and the girls found themselves ready to pass out.
Yet as soon as I decided to take a couple group photos, they all got up and ready to pose for the camera.

IMG_0183

Our “Christmas Day Family Photograph”

IMG_0188

We enjoyed ourselves well into the night. Quite past midnight, and deep into Christmas day.
But as all things must come to an end, we had to call it a night.

Waking up was difficult, but I knew that waking up in the village would make a great Christmas.

So after eating some breakfast, Kik headed to work, we headed out into the village.

IMG_0189

I don’t think there is any better feeling, than riding on the back of a motorbike, riding through the greenery and nature of this area.

IMG_0193

After a quick ride we found ourselves at the local weekend “floating” market.

IMG_0194

As we walked around, I was amazed at all of the new things around me.

IMG_0197

New foods, tastes, smells, and experiences.

IMG_0198

Soon though I realized that time was moving faster than I had expected. I needed to head back to my home to get my place cleaned up and ready for my visitors.

So I climbed back on the motorbike and we headed towards the boat area.

IMG_0202

IMG_0205

Sooner than I had wanted the day had come to an end. As I saw this Wat, I knew it was time to say goodbye.
I looked back at her as she rode away.
Not knowing when or if I would see her, Garfield, Kik, or any of my new friends again.
That’s quite a strange feeling. As my time here is running out I am slowly beginning to internalize that feeling.
It’s hard to say when I will see many of my friends again. I can only hope for sooner rather than later.

 

Its funny. You can be in a place for, what you feel like is a long time.
You get familiar with it.
You get to know where to go, where not to go.
You think you know it through and through.

Then something like this happens and everything you thought you knew goes out the window.
It’s like I came to Thailand just yesterday again.

When you open up your mind, and let go of all reservations, life can turn down a wonderful path.
A path not many explore nor will ever experience.

So I hope you let go.

Let go. Open your arms. And experience something you never could have dreamed of.

IMG_0203

2 Responses to “Christmas In the Village”

  1. Nikki December 27, 2011 at 2:21 am #

    it’s funny how I italicizing can create such emphasis. Beautiful.

    I hope you enjoyed the holidays. Cant wait to have you home.

    • dariustii December 28, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Thanks man! I’ll be home soon! See you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

